Plot: In a dystopian future, the totalitarian nation of Panem is divided between 12 districts and the Capitol. Each year two young representatives from each district are selected by lottery to participate in The Hunger Games. Part entertainment, part brutal retribution for a past rebellion, the televised games are broadcast throughout Panem. The 24 participants are forced to eliminate their competitors while the citizens of Panem are required to watch. When 16-year-old Katniss’s young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives.

Rating: PG-13 for intense violent thematic material and disturbing images – all involving teens

Directed By: Gary Ross

Written By: Gary Ross, Suzanne Collins and Billy Ray

Production: Color Force, Larger Than Life Productions, Lionsgate, Ludas Productions

In Theaters: March 23, 2012

Box Office: $407,999,255 (USA)

Budget: $78,000,000 (estimated)

Runtime: 2 hr. 22 mins.



Caesar Flickerman – Stanley Tucci
Seneca Crane – Wes Bentley
Katniss Everdeen – Jennifer Lawrence
Primrose Everdeen – Willow Shields
Gale Hawthorne – Liam Hemsworth
Effie Trinket – Elizabeth Banks
Hob Vendor – Sandra Lafferty
Katniss’ Mother – Paula Malcomson
Peeta Mellark – Josh Hutcherson
Peeta’s Mother – Raiko Bowman
Haymitch Abernathy – Woody Harrelson
Claudius Templesmith – Toby Jones
Venia – Kimiko Gelman

Flavius – Nelson Ascencio
Octavia – Brooke Bundy
Cinna – Lenny Kravitz
Rue – Amandla Stenberg
Thresh – Dayo Okeniyi
Glimmer – Leven Rambin
Marvel – Jack Quaid
Portia – Latarsha Rose
President Snow – Donald Sutherland
Cato – Alexander Ludwig
Clove – Isabelle Fuhrman