Plot: Darth Vader and the Empire are building a new, indestructible Death Star. Meanwhile, Han Solo has been imprisoned, and Luke Skywalker has sent R2-D2 and C-3PO to try and free him. Princess Leia – disguised as a bounty hunter – and Chewbacca go along as well. The final battle takes place on the moon of Endor, with its natural inhabitants, the Ewoks, lending a hand to the Rebels. Will Darth Vader and the Dark Side overcome the Rebels and take over the universe?

Rating:  PG for sci-fi action violence

Directed By: Richard Marquand

Written By: George Lucas and Lawrence Kasdan

Production: Lucasfilm

In Theaters: May 25, 1983

Box Office: $309,125,409 (USA)

Budget: $32,500,000 (estimated)

Runtime: 2 hr. 11 mins.

Script: View


Luke Skywalker – Mark Hamill
Han Solo – Harrison Ford
Princess Leia – Carrie Fisher
Lando Calrissian – Billy Dee Williams
C-3PO – Anthony Daniels
Chewbacca – Peter Mayhew
Anakin Skywalker – Sebastian Shaw
The Emperor – Ian McDiarmid
Yoda (voice) – Frank Oz
Voice of Darth Vader (voice) – James Earl Jones
Darth Vader – David Prowse

Ben ‘Obi-Wan’ Kenobi – Alec Guinness
R2-D2 / Paploo – Kenny Baker
Moff Jerjerrod – Michael Pennington
Admiral Piett – Kenneth Colley
Bib Fortuna – Michael Carter
Wedge – Denis Lawson
Admiral Ackbar – Tim Rose
General Madine – Dermot Crowley
Mon Mothma – Caroline Blakiston
Wicket – Warwick Davis
Boba Fett – Jeremy Bulloch