Plot: John Carter, a Civil War veteran who in 1868 was trying to live a normal life, is “asked” by the Army to join. But he refuses so he is locked up. He escapes and is pursued. Eventually they run into some Indians and there’s a gunfight. Carter seeks refuge in a cave. While there he encounters someone who is holding some kind of medallion. When Carter touches it, he finds himself in a place where he can leap incredible heights, among other things. He later encounters beings he has never seen before. Later he meets a woman who helps him to discover that he is on Mars. And he learns there’s some kind of unrest going on.

Rating: PG-13 for intense sequences of violence and action

Directed By: Andrew Stanton

Written By: Andrew Stanton, Mark Andrews, Michael Chabon and Edgar Rice Burroughs (“A Princess of Mars”)

Production: Walt Disney Pictures

In Theaters: March 09, 2012

Box Office: $73,058,679 (USA)

Budget: $250,000,000 (estimated)

Runtime: 2 hr. 12 mins.


John Carter – Taylor Kitsch
Dejah Thoris – Lynn Collins
Sola – Samantha Morton
Tars Tarkas – Willem Dafoe
Tal Hajus – Thomas Haden Church
Matai Shang – Mark Strong

Tardos Mors – Ciarán Hinds
Sab Than – Dominic West
Kantos Kan – James Purefoy
Powell – Bryan Cranston
Sarkoja – Polly Walker
Edgar Rice Burroughs – Daryl Sabara