Plot: In a world destroyed in a war between man and machine, a hand-stitched doll with the number 9 written on its back comes to life. The world he has awakened in is frightening, but he quickly learns that he is not alone and that there are others like him, also with a single digit written on their back. The first one he encounters is 2 who tells him something of what happened to the world. 2 is also thrilled with the disk 9 is carrying, one with three unique symbols on the front. 9 soon learns that the disk and some of the other dolls who are prepared to die for the good of humankind may be the last hope for man’s salvation.

Rating: PG-13 (for violence and scary images)

Directed By: Shane Acker

Written By: Pamela Pettler, Shane Acker

Production: Focus Features, Relativity Media,
Starz Animation, Tim Burton Productions

In Theaters: September 9, 2009

On DVD: December 29, 2009

Box Office: $31.7M

Budget: $30,000,000 (estimated)

Runtime:1 hr. 19 mins.

Script: View


1 (voice) – Christopher Plummer
2 (voice) – Martin Landau
5 (voice) – John C. Reilly
6 (voice) – Crispin Glover
7 (voice) – Jennifer Connelly

8 / Radio Announcer (voice) – Fred Tatasciore
9 (voice) – Elijah Wood
The Scientist (voice) – Alan Oppenheimer
Dictator (voice) – Tom Kane
Newscaster (voice) – Helen Wilson